Yellowstone Riggin’ Rally Recap


On Labor Day, twenty-four of the top bareback riders in the world gathered in Darby, Montana, to face off at the Yellowstone Riggin Rally — with the cast of the popular Paramount Yellowstone series cheering them on from the stands.

The field: Tim O’Connell, Cole Reiner, Garrett Shadbolt, Caleb Bennett, Orin Larsen, Anthony Thomas, Logan Patterson, Mason Clements, Bill Tutor, Tanner Aus, Paden Hurst, Wyatt Bloom, Clayton Biglow, Winn Ratliff, Jake Brown, Kaycee Feild, Taylor Broussard, Leighton Berry, Richmond Champion, Craig Wisehart, Jamie Howlett, Chad Rutherford, Tilden Hooper, and Shane O’Connell.

It was a cold and rainy night in Darby but the competition was hot. In the end, Orin Larsen came out on top, winning not only the first round but also the short-go with an epic 92.5-point ride on Brookman Rodeo’s Famous Dex scored by the judges to be worth 92.5 points. And he wasn’t the only one to go 90 in the finals. Larsen beat second place finisher Tilden Hooper by just half a point to win the Yellowstone Riggin Rally Champion title, B Bar J’s custom buckle, and $10,000.

In total, Larsen added $11,400 to his season total while Hooper came away with $6,200.

The Yellowstone Riggin Rally will air on The Cowboy Channel this coming Sunday! You can watch all of the action September 13 at 1PM and 7PM ET on TV or stream it on the PRCA on Cowboy Channel+ app.


SECTION ONE: 1. Orin Larsen, on Sankey Pro Rodeo & Phenom Genetics’ Great Nation, 86.5 points, $1,400; 2. Cole Reiner, 85.5 points, $1,050; 3. Tim O’Connell, 85 points, $700; 4. Caleb Bennett, 83 points, $350;

SECTION TWO: 1. Tanner Aus, on Brookman Rodeo’s Ragin Lunatic, 89 points, $1,400; 2. Wyatt Bloom, 86 points, $1,050; 3. Winn Ratliff, 83.5 points, $700; 4. Kaycee Feild, 82.5 points, $350;

SECTION THREE: 1. (tie) Chad Rutherford on J Bar J’s Smack Daddy and Tilden Hooper on Championship Pro Rodeo’s River Bugs, 90.5 points, $1,225 each; 3. Taylor Broussard, 86.5 points, $700; 4. Richmond Champion, 85.5 points, $350;

FINALS: 1. Orin Larsen, 92.5 points on Brookman Rodeo’s Famous Dex, $10,000; 2. Tilden Hooper, 92, $4,975; 3. Tanner Aus, 89, $3,588; 4. Richmond Champion, 88.5, $2,387; 5. Chad Rutherford, 88, $1387; 6. Cole Reiner, 87.5, $1000.



Tilden Hooper Talks Riggin Rallies and Landing a Role on Yellowstone

Bareback Riding Rookie of the Year Leader Cole Reiner

A Look at the Top 30 in Roughstock Events

Rapid City Rodeo Recap: Highlights, Results, Payouts

George Taylor Shares Breaking News on the NFR

Second-year bareback riders and the Texas Swing Queen brought it in on Day 3 in Reno
The winning ways of JR Stratford, Keenan Hayes, Rocker Steiner, Josh Frost, and Maverick Smith continued last weekend
The Aussie recaps his journey to America from the Reno Rodeo
We head into Performance 4 in Reno expecting more leaderboard changes on both ends of the arena.
Chase Dougherty posted the top ride of the opening weekend in Reno at 88 points
Whether you’re ranked No. 149 or No. 4, you had a chance in Reno on Saturday night
Athletes in the Top 20 got off to a fast start in the first five events at the Reno Rodeo
RC Landingham leads the Average at Reno Rodeo by seven and a half points.
Buddy Hawkins is hot on Lord’s trail, sitting roughly $700 behind him in the No. 2 spot