Sage Kimzey Goes No. 1 Overall in PBR Team Series Drafts

Seven-time PRCA Bull Riding World Champion Sage Kimzey will be wearing a Carolina Cowboys uniform this summer as he was selected first overall in Wednesday night’s PBR Team Series Draft.

“Getting to come on (to announce) and get familiar with the PBR Teams last year, it’s one of those things, I do think this is the future of the sport,” Kimzey said. “To go to a great organization like the Carolina Cowboys, I couldn’t be happier.”

Drafted right behind Kimzey, also to the Carolina Cowboys, was 2021 NFR Average Champion Josh Frost.

There were two other past NFR qualifiers drafted, Creek Young went seventh overall to the Texas Rattlers and Jeff Askey was drafted 11th by the Arizona Ridge Riders.

Below is the full draft order:

Round 1 (Overall Picks 1-7)

1. Carolina Cowboys – Sage Kimzey (Strong City, Oklahoma)

2. Carolina Cowboys – Josh Frost (Randlett, UT)

3. Missouri Thunder – Joao Lucas Campos (Porto Feliz, Brazil)

4. Missouri Thunder – Kade Madsen (Honeyville, Utah)

5. Kansas City Outlaws – Cassio Dias (São F. de Sales, Brazil)

6. Oklahoma Freedom – Brady Turgeon (New River, Arizona)

7. Texas Rattlers – Creek Young (Springfield, Missouri)

Round 2 (Overall Picks 8-12)

8. Nashville Stampede – Kaiden Loud (Kaufman, Texas)

9. Kansas City Outlaws – Leonardo Ferreira (Cassilandia, Brazil)

10. Missouri Thunder – Eduardo Matos (Emilianópolis, Brazil)

11. Arizona Ridge Riders – Jeff Askey (Fort Smith, Montana)

12. Carolina Cowboys – Daniel Feitosa (Guaraci, Brazil)

Round 3 (Overall Pick 13)

13. Missouri Thunder – Felipe Furlan (Sales Oliveira, Brazil)