PRCA Announces the Eight 2023 Horse of the Year Winners

The PRCA has officially announced the eight horses that have been honored as the AQHA Horse of the Year presented by Nutrena in their respective disciplines.

Team Roping Header

1. Mr Joes Shadow Bar, “Joe,” ridden by Clint Summers – owned by Clint Summers
T2. Espuela Bro, “Spur,” ridden by Tyler Wade – owned by Tyler and Jessi Wade
T2. LR Gatlin, “Colt,” ridden by Nelson Wyatt – owned by Nelson Wyatt

Team Roping Heeler

1. Kadabra King, “Turbo,” ridden by Patrick Smith – owned by Patrick and Christi Smith
2. Two Socks Chic Cody, “Garfield,” ridden by Hunter Koch – owned by Hunter Koch
T3. Apolo Oak, “Apollo,” ridden by Paul Eaves – owned by Paul Eaves
T3. TRR Freckles Holidoc, “Cantina,” ridden by Logan Medlin – owned by Logan Medlin

Steer Roping

1. Son of a Glow, “Junior,” ridden by Slade Wood – owned by Slade Wood
2. JS Frosty Badge Badger, “Goose,” ridden by Scott Snedecor – owned by Scott Snedecor
3. Mesquitewood, “San Antone,” ridden by Cody Lee – owned by Cody Lee

Steer Wrestling

1. EDS Famous Bar, “Eddie,” ridden by Dalton Massey, Tanner Milan, Stephen Culling, Ryan Shuckburgh, Curtis Cassidy, Mike McGinn, J.D. Struxness – owned by Tanner Milan
2. Dashin Haze, “Tyson,” ridden by Jesse Brown, Dakota Eldridge, Kyle Irwin, Curtis Cassidy – owned by Curtis Cassidy
3. Be Dun By Three, “Benz,” ridden by Clayton Hass, Ty Erickson, Will Lummus – owned by Clayton Hass

Tie-Down Roping

1. Stylish Bugsy, “Bugsy,” ridden by Shane Hanchey, Caleb Smidt, and Hunter Herrin – owned by Shane Hanchey
2. Chuchara Sal, “Sally,” ridden by Ty Harris, Joel Braden Harris – owned by Ty Harris
3. Seven S Tomahawk, “Smoke,” ridden by Haven Meged – owned by Haven Meged

Barrel Racing

1. Fame Fire Rocks, “Poprocks,” ridden by Taycie Matthews – owned by Mission Ranch LLC
2. Jets Top Gun, “Benny,” ridden by Brittany Pozzi Tonozzi – owned by Busby Quarter Horses
3. Fiery Miss West, “Missy,” ridden by Jessica Routier – owned by Gary A. Westergren

Breakaway Roping

1. No Wimpy Turns, “Onna,” ridden by Shelby Boisjoli – owned by Shelby Boisjoli
2. Kits Tiana Play, “Little Man,” ridden by Kelsie Domer – owned by Kelsie Domer
3. Baybe Bullet, “Baybe,” ridden by Joey Williams – owned by Taylor and Joey Williams

Pickup Man

1. Baby Hes Hot, “Baby,” ridden by Tyler Kraft – owned by Tyler Kraft
2. Buckle Set, “Wiggles,” ridden by Josh Edwards – owned by Josh Edwards
3. DriftersDocsClay, “Bay,” ridden by Tommy Pettit – owned by Tommy Pettit