Pikes Peak or Bust Rodeo 2021: Recap

The Pikes Peak or Bust Rodeo wrapped up on Saturday with some big scores and fast times in the final round brought to you by some of rodeo’s biggest names.

In the bareback riding it was 2020 Resistol Rookie of the Year Cole Reiner who is your champion after a 90 point ride in the Gold Buckle Championship Round. Mason Clements and Chad Rutherford also pulled checks in the final round.

Don Payne is the steer wrestling champion with a 4.5 second run. Payne was the definition of consistency after a 4.6 second run in his performance got him to championship Saturday. In the final round Tristan Martin was a close second with a 4.6 and Reed Kreager was a no time.

They are your National Intercollegiate Rodeo champions and this weekend the can add Pikes Peak or Bust Rodeo champions to their resume. Brothers Kellan and Carson Johnson were faster than the two other teams in the final round with a 5.0 run. Those two other teams were Clay Tryan and Jake Long as well as Erich Rogers and Paden Bray.

With a 91.5 point ride on Championship Pro Rodeo’s Angel Eyes in the final round it was none other than Stetson Wright who is the saddle bronc champion. He was the only competitor to make a ride in the final round and it was a showstopper.

J.D. McCuistion stops the clock in the final round of the tie-down roping at 9.4 to get the championship buckle. Coming in second was Bryson Sechrist with a 9.9 and in third was Ryley Fontenot with a 10.6 second run.

The Gold Buckle Championship round of barrel racing was FAST. Jessica Routier was the final lady to fun and she took him the win with a 17.042 second run. Jimmie Smith came in second with a smoking 17.352 and unfortunately Ashley Catsleberry hit a barrel to be a 17.491.

JB Mauney covered his bull for 87.5 points on 4L & Diamond S Rodeo’s Space Unicorn to be the Pikes Peak or Bust Rodeo champion. Stetson Wright ended up second with an 86 on his reride bull.