Coming Full Circle: A Look at the NFR Through the Years as it Returns to Texas for 2020

On the eve of the National Finals Rodeo coming to Texas, where it was first held in 1959, we take at look back the evolution of the “Super Bowl of Rodeo” — with help from rodeo greats such as Joe Beaver, Trevor Brazile, and Kaycee Feild.

The first NFR was held in 1959 in Dallas, where it remained until 1961. Los Angeles took over as host to the Finals, from 1962-1964, before it moved to Oklahoma City. OKC served as host through 1984, and from there, it moved to the CIty of Lights. Las Vegas has been of the National Finals Rodeo ever since, growing the event into more than just the grand finale of the PRCA season but also an extravaganza of shows, expos, and flashy parties in Vegas fashion.

The NFR is now a bucket list event for rodeo fans and a meaningful milestone for the athletes, who dream from childhood of one day getting to nod their heads in those iconic yellow bucking chutes.


NFR Update: Payout and Points Explained

NFR Update: Stetson Country Christmas

Breaking News: 2020 NFR Location Announced

WATCH: PRCA CEO George Taylor Talking 2020 NFR at Globe Life Stadium

Patrick Gottsch Shares Plans for 2020 NFR Events

John Wayne Exhibit Coming to The Stockyards in Time for NFR

6X World Champion Sage Kimzey Reacts to NFR News

World Champion Hailey Kinsel on NFR Heading to her Home State